What path should I take?

I am now in the middle of thinking and asking myself where should I go.

2 months from now, we will walk on the stage, take our diplomas, and take our hats off. That will be the end of my student benefits. Kidding aside, that will be the beginning of my professional career. And I don’t know what or where will I go.

We IE’s are jack of all trades and *FYI!* we are not master of none. And that is my dilemma for now. I have a lot of industries to choose.

  • Aerospace Industry
  • Automotive Industry
  • Banking Industry
  • BPO Industry
  • Electronics Industry
  • Energy Industry (Oil/Gas and Power)
  • Food Industry
  • Government Sector
  • Healthcare Industry
  • Insurance Companies
  • Manufacturing Industry
  • Semiconductor Companies
  • Service Industry
  • Telecommunication Industry
  • Other Industries

YES! We are suitable with all industries and companies that I listed. That’s why it is very hard to know now where do I want to go. There’s the path, but the path is not clear enough. It’s a lil bit foggy.

I’ve been to Automotive Industry and experienced actual Time-and-Motion study as well as how to set standard time. I’ve also been into an Aerospace Industry and learned Principles of Supply Chain Management, mainly in Purchasing and MRP.

I just realized, 5years ago, I am on the same dilemma. I don’t know what course will I take. Being an Industrial Engineer still makes myself surprised. I am not excellent with Math and drawing and stuff. All I know is I’m good with media and computer, but I didn’t take ECE or IT. Maybe I am destined to be an IE. And now, decision making is a lot harder. I need to search for a job that will be my life. I remember someone who discusses the meaning of “HANAPBUHAY”. It’s not just about work or salary. It’s about you and how committed you will be, because eventually, that will be your life.

I just wish that May the odds be ever in my favour.

Leave a Reply

